The obelisk of London was represented in the year 1819. It remained in Alexandria for 60 years because at that time it was not possible for the British Government to move the obelisk to some other place. The obelisk has got a unique history. It got capsized in a storm in the Bay of Biscay which is on the way of London. Six crew members who were commemorated on a plaque at the obelisk were killed. However the obelisk was repaired as it was taken to Spain & it arrived in London in the year 1878, January.
10,000 pound was paid by the local anatomist & philanthropist Sir William James Erasmus Wilson which was the cost for the repairing the needle. The needle weighing 180 ton originally came from the ancient city of Heliopolis & it was believed that it was erected by the order of Pharaoh Thutmose. The entire structure is made of red granite & it’s about 21 meters high. The structure is covered in Egyptian Hieroglyphs. In around 12 BC Egypt was a part of the Roman Empire & the obelisks which were situated in London & New York were mainly placed in Alexandria, in the Caesareum. There are two Bronze replicas of Egyptian sphinxes sit on the either side of the Cleopatra’s Needle & bear the valuable inscription which holds-“the good god, Thuthmosis III given life”.